Sudden passing of Dr. Hugh M. French
May 14, 2019
The CPA is saddened to announce the sudden passing on May 11, 2019 in Victoria, B.C. of Dr. Hugh M. French, former Dean of the Faculty of Science and Professor Emeritus in the departments of Geography, Environment and Geomatics and of Earth Sciences at the University of Ottawa.

Hugh is internationally recognized as a specialist on periglacial processes and permafrost science. In a career at the University of Ottawa that started with his first visit to the Arctic in 1967 and spanned 36 years, plus a further 16 years post-retirement, he wrote or co-wrote more than 160 publications covering topics such as ground ice formation and distribution, slope processes, natural and anthropogenic thermokarst, and frozen ground engineering.

He was one of the most widely travelled geocryologists, publishing studies carried out in the Canadian High Arctic and Subarctic, the Tibet Plateau, Antarctica, and parts of Europe and the USA which experienced periglacial conditions during the Quaternary. His many accomplishments included founding the journal Permafrost and Periglacial Processes which he edited for 16 years, and writing four editions of his textbook The Periglacial Environment over nearly 30 years, the last of which was published in 2017.

Hugh also played important roles in the International Permafrost Association helping found it in 1983 and subsequently as Vice-President (1993-1998) and President (1998-2003). He received the Roger J.E. Brown Award of the Canadian Geotechnical Society for outstanding contributions to permafrost science and engineering, the Award for Scholarly Distinction in Geography from the Canadian Association of Geographers and the International Permafrost Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Hugh was a lifetime member of the CPA and a great supporter of its goals. The Hugh M. French Award for outstanding contributions to permafrost science and/or periglacial geomorphology, which had already been named in his honour, will be awarded for the first time at the Eighth Canadian Permafrost Conference in Québec in August 2019.
CSA PLUS 4011.1 Technical Guide posted for Public Review
May 15, 2019
The draft for CSA PLUS 4011.1 Technical Guide: “Infrastructure in Permafrost: A Guideline For Climate Change Adaptation.” was posted for Public Review. The intent of this document is to provide stakeholders with information on the potential impacts of climate change on infrastructure in Canada’s permafrost regions. Your feedback on this draft review is of great importance. Review is open until June 18, 2019

The link to the Public Review site is available via the following link:
Winners of the CPA and CNC-IPA Student Bursaries!
May 6, 2019
The Canadian Permafrost Association (CPA) and the Canadian National Committee for the International Permafrost Association (CNC-IPA) jointly funded up to 20 bursaries to encourage participation by students in the 18th International Conference on Cold Regions Engineering / 8th Canadian Permafrost Conference in Québec City from August 18-22, 2019.

The awards are competitive with ranking based on the quality and originality of the abstract and the contribution of the student to it. Applications will be judged by a committee with members drawn from the CPA, CNC-IPA and PYRN North America.

Winners of the bursaries are as follows:

Simon Dumais (Université Laval) - Declined due to other funding
Élise Devoie (University of Waterloo)
Mary Kerr (Laurentian University)
Xiangbing Kong (Université Laval)
Cameron Ross (Royal Military College of Canada)
Jean Holloway (University of Ottawa)
Earl Marvin De Guzman (University of Manitoba)
Greg Gambino (University of Toronto)
Jennifer Humphries (Carleton University)
Marilyne Parent (Université Laval)
Erfan Abedian Amiri (University of Waterloo)
Sohail Akhtar (Concordia University)
Canadian Permafrost Association Award Winners!
May 5, 2019
Professor Michel Allard, Laval University will be awarded the Hugh M. French Award at the 8th Canadian Permafrost Conference in Quebec City in August. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to permafrost science and/or periglacial geomorphology over a career.

Dr. Chris Burn, Carleton University, will give the first lecture as part of the Mackay Lectures at the 8th Canadian Permafrost Conference in Quebec City in August. This lecture is named in honour of Canada’s pre-eminent permafrost expert, the late Professor J. Ross Mackay