Canadian Permafrost Association Awards


The CPA recognizes excellence in its members through a number of prestigious awards. These awards are dispersed at Canadian Permafrost Conferences and include several student bursaries.


Hugh M. French Award             

Recognizes outstanding contributions to permafrost science and/or periglacial geomorphology over a career. 


Mackay Lecture


This lecture, named in honour of Canada’s pre-eminent permafrost expert, the late Professor J. Ross Mackay, is given at each Canadian Permafrost Conference.


Student Bursaries


Bursaries to encourage participation by students at select permafrost conferences. 


Don Hayley Award


Recognizes outstanding contributions to permafrost engineering, or the practical application of science to solve engineering problems in permafrost areas.    



Click here to download the 2021 Award Nomination Form.

After completion and with the supporting signatures of three CPA members, the form must be emailed to [email protected] before the deadline of 2359 PDT on August 31, 2021.