Annual General Meeting

CPA & NSERC PermafrostNet Virtual Annual General Meeting 2020

November 16 - 18 2020

8:30 am (PST) / 11:30 am (EST) – 1:30 pm (PST) / 4:30 pm (EST)


We invite all CPA members and NSERC PermafrostNet affiliates to participate in the first virtual Annual General Meeting to be held on November 16, 17 & 18, 2020 between 11:30 am - 4:30 pm (ET) / 8:30 am – 1:30 pm (PT). The preliminary program of the CPA virtual AGM, consisting of three technical sessions and two keynote presentations, can be found below. The business meeting will be held on the last session on Monday the 16th.


Attandance to the meeting is free for all CPA members and detailed information will be provided in an email closer to the event. If you are not a member, you can easily become a member by registering here. Note that you can either register at a reduced (60%) registration fee for the remainder of the calendar year, or pay the full membership fee, which will include the membership for the year 2021.


If you are not a CPA member you are welcome to attend the joint CPA/NSERC PermafrostNet sessions on Tuesday and the NSERC PermafrostNet day on Wednesday at no cost.


If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to communications@canadianpermafrostassociation.ca


Assemblée générale annuelle virtuelle 2020 de l'ACP 2020 et du CRSNG PermafrostNet

16 - 18 novembre 2020


8 h 30 (HNP) / 11 h 30 (HNE) - 13 h 30 (HNP) / 16 h 30 (HNE)


Nous invitons tous les membres de l'ACP et du CRSNG PermafrostNet à participer à la première assemblée générale annuelle virtuelle qui se tiendra les 16, 17 et 18 novembre 2020 de 11 h 30 à 16 h 30 (HE) / 8 h 30 à 13 h: 30 h (HP). Le programme préliminaire de l'assemblée générale annuelle virtuelle de la CPA, qui comprend trois sessions techniques et deux présentations principales, est présenté ci-dessous. La réunion d'affaires aura lieu lors de la dernière session du lundi 16 novembre.


L'inscription à la réunion est gratuite pour tous les membres de l'ACP et des informations détaillées seront fournies dans un courriel à l'approche de l'événement. Si vous n'êtes pas membre de l'ACP, vous pouvez facilement le devenir en vous inscrivant  iciNotez que vous pouvez soit vous inscrire à un tarif réduit (60%) pour le restant de l'année civile, soit payer la totalité de la cotisation, qui comprendra l'adhésion pour l'année 2021. 


Si vous n'êtes pas membre de l'ACP, vous êtes toutefois invités à assister gratuitement aux séances du mardi et du mercredi.

Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à contacter communications@canadianpermafrostassociation.ca


Program - Programme


November 16, 2020 / 16 novembre, 2020


11:30 AM ET  / 8:30 AM PT Welcome Note - Note de bienvenue


11:40 AM ET  / 8:40 AM PT Keynote 1 - Présentation principale 1:

Shifting Perspective – Planning today for Arctic GeoEngineering of tomorrow  (Ryley Beddoe)


12:15 PM ET  / 9:15 AM PT Session 1 (Chair: Peter Morse)
  • Assessment of Coastal Erosion Processes on Tuktoyaktuk Island, NWT using a 2D Finite-Element Model Approach (Danika Ouellette)
  • Coastal Erosion Mitigation Project in Tuktoyaktuk, NWT (Fred Scott)
  • Pragmatic Thermal Analysis of Permafrost (Ron Coutts)
  • Laboratory characterization of permafrost samples using the ultrasonic pulse velocity technique (Hongwei  Liu)
  • Initial Thermal Performance of a Tailings Retaining Frozen Foundation Dam, Nunavut, Canada (Christopher Stevens)
  • The Moosehide and Sunnydale slides near Dawson City, YT (Lukas Arenson)
  • Remote sensing and geophysical techniques to detect and map ice wedges (Samuel Gagnon)


2:00 PM ET  / 11:00 AM PT Break - Pause


2:30 PM ET  / 11:30 AM PT CPA Business Meeting - Réunion d'affaires de l'ACP 


4:30 PM ET  / 1:30 PM PT End of Day 1 - Fin de journée 1


November 17, 2020 / 17 novembre, 2020


11:30 AM ET  / 8:30 AM PT Keynote 2 - Présentation principale 2:

Ancient permafrost and past lessons from a thawing Arctic (Duane Froese)


12:05 PM ET  / 9:05 AM PT Session 2​


Session 2A (Chair: Lukas Arenson)
Session 2B (Chair: Ashley Rudy)
  • A long-term, 1-km resolution daily meteorological dataset for modeling and mapping permafrost in Canada (Yu Zhang)
  • The lifecycle of a talik: from formation to fen with an eye for function (Élise Devoie)
  • Analysis of surface-based inversion characteristics in northwestern Canada using radiosonde data between 1990 and 2016 (Nick Noad)
  • Estimating the cost of climate change-induced permafrost thaw on Canadian infrastructure (Antoni Lewkowicz)
  • An aerial inventory of rock glacier distribution and activity level assessment in Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada (Mishélle Wehbe)
  • Predicting permafrost probability in a boreal environment using a multiple logistic regression model (Seamus Daly)
  • Modelling Water Release from Permafrost in Response to Climate Change in Chile (Cassandra Koenig)
  • A Check on PERD 1998 Climate Change Forecasts for Canada (Sam Proskin)
  • Thaw sensitive terrain, northern Slave Geological Province, NU (Peter Morse)
  • Utilizing the TTOP model to understand spatial permafrost temperature variability in a High Arctic landscape (Madeleine Garibaldi)
  • Observations of watershed-scale channelization in a periglacial environment (Shawn Chartrand)
  • Brain-like Ridges in the Canadian High Arctic (Shannon Hibbard)



1:35 PM ET  / 10:35 AM PT End of CPA Sessions Day 2 / Break - Fin de journée 2 de l'ACP / pause


1:45 PM ET  / 10:45 AM PT Welcome to NSERC PErmafrostNet AGM (link)



AGM 2020 Registration

AGM 2020 Registration

Email
If you are not yet a member, you must register prior to the AGM if you want to participate in the CPA AGM events in order to obtain an access code. /
Si vous n'êtes pas encore membre, vous devez vous inscrire avant l'assemblée générale i vous souhaitez participer aux événements de l'AGA de l'ACP afin d'obtenir un code d'accès.